Well another day another horrible decision
A three member UDRP panel just gave away the domain name 32x.com to the Trademark holder of 32Red.
I have no idea of how 32x.com is “Identical or Confusingly Similar” to a trademark for 32Red but that is what the panel found. The panel also disregarded the fact that the complaints waited some six years before bringing the complaint.
John Berryhill represented the domain holder.
The complaint was brought by two Complainants.
The first complainant was 32Red Plc of Gibraltar, Overseas Territory of the United Kingdom and the Second Complainant is Trafalgar Media Limited of Gibraltar (together ‘the Complainant).
The Respondent was Baysound LLC of San Pablo, California
Here are the relevant facts and findings:
The Complainant carries on business as a provider of online gambling services and has done so since 2002 under the trade mark 32RED.
The Second Complainant is a wholly owned subsidiary of the First Complainant.
The Complainant advertises and promotes its “32 Red” brand extensively.
The Complainant contends that it is commonly known by its customers and the industry as “32”.
The Complainant owns the following registered trade marks:
32RED (word) under European Community trade mark number 2814424, registered on August 16, 2002;
32RED (figurative) under European Community trade mark number 2907426, registered on October 18, 2002;
32 (word) under United Kingdom trade mark number 2509861, registered on June 5, 2009
32 (word) under European Community trade mark number and 8398695, filed on July 1, 2009 and registered on January 21, 2010.
The Complainant has operated its main website at “www.32red.com” since 2002.
The Domain Name was first registered on June 4, 1996 by the company 32X Corporation in relation to web development services.
The Domain Name was acquired by Fred Hill on or about July 16, 2006. It was then transferred to the Respondent on or about August 1, 2006. Mr. Hill appears to own and manage the Respondent.
In 2006, the website connected to the Domain Name (‘the Website’) was an online gaming site branded “The Online Casino”. As of October 2007, the Website included links to the Complainant’s competitors such as 888.com and Party Poker.
“The Panel is satisfied that the Complainant has clearly established registered rights in the trade marks 32RED and 32.”
“The Panel is also satisfied that it has established unregistered rights in the trade mark 32 RED, however, the evidence submitted to establish unregistered rights in the mark 32, i.e.…